The cultural heritage of Serbia’s capital is immense, but for this occasion we will focus on the architecture of Belgrade’s facades – specifically the part that carries Masonic symbols or was inspired by Freemasonry in its design. The earliest traces of Masonic lodges forming in Belgrade date from the mid-18th to the early 19th century, when a lodge called “Ali Koč” existed at the Belgrade Fortress. Its prominent member was also the poet Sima Milutinović Sarajlija. The lodge held its ritual work in the building that still stands today on the Kalemegdan fortress, home to the Natural History Museum Gallery. The building was erected on foundations dating back to Roman Singidunum. The development of Freemasonry in Belgrade has followed a turbulent path closely tied to the historical events of our city. With this in mind, most buildings bearing Masonic symbols on their facades were built between 1900 and 1940. Despite great challenges, Freemasonry has endured to this day, represented by the Grand National Lodge of Serbia, which conducts its work according to the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite.
Route 1. Masonic Symbols on Belgrade's Facades
Point 1. Vase Čarapića Street
The building on Vase Čarapića Street was designed by the famous Belgrade architect Petar Krstić, and based on the medallions on its facade, it is almost certain that Freemasons lived in it. On its facade, there is a medallion with an athlete holding a compass.
Point 2. The Greek Consulate Building
The building of the Greek Consulate, designed by the Pionir Technical Enterprises Society, faces Francuska Street and Strahinjića Bana Street, and is adorned on both sides with an emblem intertwined with Freemasons’ symbols.
Point 3. Hilandarska Street
On Hilandarska Street is a house, owned and designed by architect Milan Antonović, which was built in 1907–1908. The symbol of a plumb bob and a compass is featured on its facade.
Point 4. Corner of Nušićeva and Majke Jevrosime Streets
The building on the corner of Nušićeva and Majke Jevrosime streets was designed by the famous architect Jovan Novaković at the request of Brother Ilija Bogdanović. For this reason, a set square and compass are located on the facade between his initials.
Point 5. The Postal Museum
The Postal Museum was built in 1930 and features the most Freemason symbols on its facade. It was designed by the famous architect Momir Korunović, a prominent member of the Freemasons’ lodge of that time and a pioneer of the Serbian-Byzantine style. At the very top of the building, the symbols of the triangle and the plumb line alternate.
Point 6. The Technical Faculties Building
The Technical Faculties Building (Faculty of Architecture, Faculty of Civil Engineering, and Faculty of Electrical Engineering) was built between 1925 and 1930 to plans by architects Aleksandar Đorđević and Nikola Nestorović. On its front facade, on the left and right sides, there is a prominently displayed symbol of a crossed compass and an inverted triangle.
Point 7. Kneginje Zorke Street
On the side facade of the building on Kneginje Zorke Street, three medallions dominate, the central one of which is unequivocally dedicated to the Freemasons. It features an athlete holding a compass with a temple behind him.
Point 8. Svetog Save Street
The house on Svetog Save Street belonged to the architect Stojan Veljković. On the facade, above both terraces, a prominently displayed crossed square and compass is visible. Interestingly, Veljković lent out his own house for the secret political negotiations between the state leadership and Croatian politicians that resulted in the signing of the Cvetković–Maček Agreement.
Point 9. Bulevar Oslobođenja
The building on Bulevar Oslobođenja was erected by Damjan Branković, on whose facade the all-seeing eye and triangle are located. Brother Damjan was the grand orator of the Grand Lodge of Yugoslavia until 1933.
Point 10. Kneza Miloša Street
The house on Kneza Miloša Street was designed in 1901 by architect Nikola Nestorović and was the family villa of the Nestorović family. Its facade is adorned with a crossed square and compass.
Route 2. Buildings and Monuments Inspired by Freemasonry
Point 1. Natural History Museum Gallery
The Natural History Museum Gallery was built in the 1830s. It was the first purpose-built Masonic lodge in Belgrade, home to the first lodge in the Belgrade area, called „Ali Koč“.
Point 2. Knez Mihailova
On the central Belgrade street, Knez Mihailova, in front of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts, there is a truncated Masonic pyramid.
Point 3. The Captain Miša Building
The Captain Miša Building was built in 1863. Captain Miša Anastasijević was a Freemason, and work was carried out in his building. Its original purpose was to be his personal palace, but it was later decided that it would become a charitable endowment, and so it became the home of the Ministry of Education, the National Bank, the National Museum, and today it is home to the Rector’s Office of the University of Belgrade.
Point 4. The Saint Sava Society Building
The Saint Sava Society building was constructed in 1914, when the society of the same name was registered, founded by Freemasons from the „Pobratim“ Lodge. The society built schools throughout Serbia and funded books for students. In addition, they supported a large number of pupils who later went on to continue their education independently.
Taken from the website https://route33.eu/en/serbia/





